An Interview with Martin Mundt

Published December 16, 2015 by MommaCat

MartyMundt

 

Most authors have had many jobs to pay the bills in their quest to become successful. What are some of the jobs that you have held? 

    I’ve had one job since 1982, in manufacturing.  I would’ve taken on more freelance editing and proofreading work, but the opportunities have been rare, and so hardly count as jobs. I briefly traded commodities back in the 80’s, but I broke even, so in the end, that hardly counted as a job either.

Being an aspiring published author is …

painful.

Have you ever devised a character and then written a plot around them?

     No. The concept of the story always comes first.

If you could write one person in history “out of the story” and change the future, who would you erase and how would you foresee the world according to Mundt?

    A difficult question. Counterfactuals lead to so many questions of their own. Say I want to erase Arch Duke Franz Ferdinand. What are the odds that the alternate heir presumptive to the Austro-Hungarian throne would be assassinated in the same way and start World War One and kick off the 20th Century? But probably something would, in some way, because the forces existed to do so. So say I think bigger, and erase Abraham, and try to get rid of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Maybe I succeed, but I don’t get rid of other religions, because people like religions; and anyway, I’m not even sure Abraham counts as a “person in history”. So, tricky stuff. But then, after two days of considering this question, it occurred to me that I’d written a story about just this topic, so I’m going to refer everyone to that: “The Magruder Film”, in an anthology called Gen F: An Anthology of Short Stories for the Comic Tragedies of Our Times, published in 2014. Who did I erase? Mick Jagger. And his death brought about a golden age of peace and love: the Age of the Hippies. Go read it. It might answer this question for you.

Who are the authors that have influenced your writing the most?

    Harlan Ellison and Dylan Thomas

If you were able to trade bodies with one person for one day, who would it be and why?

    Dita Von Teese. Why? Go big or go home.

 

dita

 

What are the next three books you’re planning to read?

    The First World War, John Keegan

    Billy Budd and Benito Cereno, Herman Melville

    The Monsters of Templeton, Lauren Groff

 

What five people living or dead would you invite to a dinner party?

 Voltaire. Emily Dickinson. Albert Einstein. Mark Twain. Groucho Marx. Harlan Ellison. Mae West. More than five. I cheated.

 

How do you want the world to remember you?

 All or nothing, I guess. Either a bestselling author, or not at all.

Check out Martin on Facebook, the web and on Twitter @MartinMundt1..  If  you’re new to his writing, you’re going to want to grab all of the collections of his you can. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop.  His newest book, SYNCHRONIZED SLEEPWALKING is reviewed below.  Thank you for taking time from your writing, Marty, to visit with us!  

 

 

 

One comment on “An Interview with Martin Mundt

  • Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this
    information to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  • Comments are closed.

