AN INTERVIEW WITH LUKE WALKER

Published September 1, 2015 by MommaCat

LukeWalker

  • Most authors have had many jobs to pay the bills in their quest to become successful. What are some of the the jobs that you have held?

I’ve been in the same job for almost twelve years – working in the stock department of a library. Before that, I’ve worked in a record shop (anyone remember those?), the office of a furniture magazine and as an orderly in a hospital. That job had the bonus of involving carrying severed legs in biowaste bags down to the morgue. And I can tell you, a severed leg is much heavier than you’d expect. When I was younger, I worked in an off-licence (or liquor store) if you prefer which mainly involved shouting at kids who weren’t old enough to drink and abusing my staff discount.

  • Would you talk about your upcoming books and their production schedule?

I’ve got a couple of books out on submission and I’m hoping to hear good news soon. My first published book (released in early 2012 as The Red Girl) has been unavailable for over a year, but I’ve recently signed a contract with a UK publisher called Caffeine Nights to re-publish it at some point next year. It might have a new title although it’s too early to say for definite. I’m very happy this one is being published again especially as it’ll be in print rather than the original ebook only release. At the moment, I’m working on a chapbook which I’m hoping to sell to a publisher I’m a big fan of. Early days, but I’m hopeful.

  • How important are character names and how do you come up with them?

They’re important in that they have to fit the character and make sense (for example, it’s doubtful a woman in her sixties would be called Beyonce or to find a fifteen year old boy named Peregrine), but I don’t stress over them. I’ll mix up the first names and surnames of people I know if need be. The characters are just A, B, C and so on until they have names.

  • Who are the authors that have influenced your writing the most?

First up, Stephen King. Without question. Then James Herbert for a sense of Britishness I often aim for; Clive Barker, Tim Lebbon, Gary McMahon, Alison Littlewood, Sarah Pinborough, Susan Hill…loads. I’m discovering more superb writers by the week.

  • If you were able to trade bodies with one person for one day who would it be

and why?

One of my cats. Just to have a chilled out day, sitting on the sofa before someone feeds me.

  • What are the next three books you’re planning to read?

Not for the first time, I’m working my way through Stephen King’s Dark Tower series. Got the final three to go. After that, possibly Sarah Pinborough’s The Death House; The Whisperers by John Connolly, and the fourth Skullduggery Pleasant book from Derek Landy.

  • What five people living or dead would you invite to a dinner party?

Stephen King, Terry Pratchett, HP Lovecraft, Gillian Anderson and my wife.

  • If you could claim one book as your own – think fame not fortune – what would it be?

Easy. It by Stephen King. That book nails everything good about horror as well as everything good when it comes to being a kid and friendship.

  • How do you want the world to remember you?

I’m not fussed if the world remembers me. If it does, then as that guy who wrote those books they liked. As long as my loved ones remember me, it’s all good.

Luke Walker has been writing horror and fantasy fiction for most of his life. His novella Mirror Of The Nameless is published by DarkFuse. His collection of horror fiction, Die Laughing, was published in 2015. Several of his short stories have been published online and in print. His next novel will be published by Caffeine Nights in 2016.
Luke welcomes comments at his blog which can be read at
 www.lukewalkerwriter.com His Twitter page is @lukewalkerbooks.

He is thirty-seven and lives in England with his wife and two cats. He’s now had enough of writing about himself in the third person and is going for a lay down.

While Luke rests, you can read my review of DIE LAUGHING!

2 comments on “AN INTERVIEW WITH LUKE WALKER

  • Comments are closed.

