An Interview with Glen Krisch

Published April 1, 2015 by MommaCat

GlenKrisch

What’s your earliest memory about storytelling?

I can pinpoint the very moment I decided I wanted to be a writer. When I was a freshman in high school I was regularly tormented by a neighborhood bully. He was much bigger than me, and during the day in question, he was chasing me with a pellet gun. He fired at me a number of times before I was able to take shelter in my garage. I thought I was safe, but then he blew a hole through the window in the garage door, showering shards of glass in my face. The whole situation was unsettling and stuck with me. That night I decided I would journal about the experience even though I really hadn’t written anything down outside of school since my childhood Christmas wish lists. So, at any rate, the words started flowing as I wrote in a yellow legal pad. After a couple of pages, the writing shifted from me describing an actual event into something entirely fictional. The bully became a monster. I kept writing, hooked for life.

Sure, I’m influenced by certain authors, but I’m probably equally influenced by real-life traumas.

If you could live during any era in any land, real or imaginary, where would it be and why?

I like the idea of living in an era of modern conveniences, but in a lot of ways our current time period is too convenient. I wish I could have experienced post-WWII America, the 1950s and 1960s, early rock and roll, the excitement of the early space program.

Would you talk about your upcoming books and the production schedule?

Well, if this interview goes live around April 1st, the signed limited edition of NOTHING LASTING should be getting close to shipping from Cemetery Dance Publications. At the end of 2015, JournalStone will publish GLEANERS, Brother’s Keeper Book 2. I have a number of projects in the works for different kinds of media (books, comics, TV/film). If any of those need my attention, obviously my plans will have to be flexible. Otherwise, I have a few partially completed novels I’d like to finish. Tentative titles: PATHS TO SURVIVAL, THE FINAL SUMMER, and BROKEN, BEAT & SCARRED.

What are the next three books you’re planning to read?

MOBY DICK by Melville

WAR AND REMEMBRANCE by Wouk

FACTORY TOWN by Jon Bassoff

What have you never taken the time to do that you really want to do? (bucket list item)

Bike solo across the country.

What if you could trade bodies with one person for one day? Who would that be?

Hmm… nobody? I’m happy in my own skin.

Who are the authors that influenced your life and your writing the most?

Stephen King, Robert McCammon, Dan Simmons, Tim Lebbon, Clive Barker, Joe

Lansdale, John Connolly, and plenty of others. I tend to like all-around authors. Authors who have a strong narrative voice, and who are solid at establishing setting, pacing, and dialog. 

Do you consider yourself handy around the house?

HAHAHA… me handy around the house? Not really, but what makes me look at least competent at DIY projects is Youtube. What did people do without Youtube? I’ve fixed a number of plumbing issues after watching tutorials online. Same could be said for car repairs.

What five people – living or dead – would you invite to a dinner party? (Universal translators will be provided)

Me at 15

Aldous Huxley

Mark Twain

Chuck Palahniuk

Christopher Hitchens.

I would basically sit back with my younger self and snicker as we watch the others hold down the most incredible discussion.

How do you want the world to remember you?

In truth, I don’t care if I’m remembered. Being remembered by the general public isn’t really something that people can control (well, unless you’re someone like Mark David Chapman and decide to kill John Lennon). Worrying about legacy is somewhat morbid, isn’t it? If I’m remembered at all, I guess I’d hope that people think of me as a decent guy who worked hard and cared for his family.

Find Glen at Amazon.com and Facebook. Check out his WordPress blog. Follow him on Twitter: @glenkrisch

Get a free novel when you sign up for his newsletter:  Glen has put WHERE DARKNESS DWELLS on sale for $0.99!  It’s an amazing book, like all his work, so do yourself a favor…if you can’t decide what to buy – buy ALL his books!  I honestly can’t tell you which one is best.  It’s whichever one I’m reading at the moment.  MC

Thanks for inviting me to your awesome site, MommaCat!

Thank you for stopping by, Glen! I think you’re an amazing writer and I hope we get to chat again.  Cheers!

