An Interview with James A. Moore

Published January 1, 2015 by MommaCat

JamesMoore

1) What’s your earliest memory about storytelling?

My earliest? Sitting on my mother’s knee while she explained to me that thunder was the sound of elves bowling. She then went on to tell me several Norse myths.

2) If you could live during any era in any land, real or imaginary, where would it be and why?

I’d kind of dig living in the Star Trek universe. I’d love to explore new worlds.

3) You’re a self described Luddite. What present day item have you wholeheartedly embraced?  

My iPhone. I broke down and got the thing when my previous phone was dying. I decided that they had finally come up with an idiot proof device and, as I am a technological idiot, I immediately jumped on it with both feet. I liked it so much I bought a Mac.

4) What are the next three books you’re planning to read?

Errick Nunnally’s ALL THE DEAD MEN, Jeff Strand’s FACIAL and Christopher Golden’s TIN MEN. And I am seriously looking forward to all three.

5) If you could claim one book as your own – think fame, not fortune – what book do you wish you wrote and why?

HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S (SORCERER’S) STONE. Because that book kickstarted and movement among younger kids to actually READ again and that is a lovely thing to me.

6) What if you could trade bodies with one person for one day? Who would that be?)

The President of the United States of America. I expect no matter what transpired, there would be enough fuel for a dozen novels.

7) Who are the authors that influenced your life the most?

Stephen King, Harlan Ellison, Ray Bradbury, Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, Richard Bach, John Irving, J.R.R. Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, Mark Twain, Clifford D. Simak, Phillip K. Dick, Michael Moorcock, Robert E.Howard, Gahan Wilson, Mary Shelley, H.G. Wells, Robert Louis Stevenson, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Lloyd Alexander, Dennis O’Neil, Dean R. Koontz, and the Brothers Grimm…in no particular order.

8) Do you have plans to convert all your books into e-books?

Some day. And probably sooner rather than later.

9) What five people – living or dead-  would you invite to a dinner party? (Universal translators will be provided)

Let’s go with six groups I think would be interesting:

1) Stephen King, Gene Roddenberry, Ray Bradbury, Steven Speilberg and H.P. Lovecraft.

2) Cat Stevens, Bruce Springsteen, David Bowie, Eric Clapton, John Lennon

3) Emma Watson, Jennifer Lawrence, Scarlett Johansson, Christina Hendricks and Judi Densch

4) Alan Moore, Isaac Asimov, Clifford D. Simak, Charlize Theron and Jane Fonda

5) Alfred Hitchcock, Winston Churchill, Richard Nixon, Christopher Golden and Tim Lebbon

6) J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Adolf Hitler, J. Michael Straczynski and Martin Luther King Jr.

10) How do you want the world to remember you?

As a decent person who also happens to be a pretty darned good writer. If I could be remembered as one of the wealthiest writers in history, that too would be nice.

11) Would you talk about your upcoming books and the production schedule?

As it stands right now I have a collaborative book with Charles R. Rutledge called A HELL WITHIN. It’s a southern gothic-horror-crime-mystery fusion and the third in the Griffin & Price novels. After that I’m working on a novel called SPORES that is a science fiction apocalyptic invasion tale. I’m in negotiations for the last two books in the SEVEN FORGES series with Angry Robot Books and I have about three other series that I’m working on getting up and running. There’s a lot in the planning stages and not as much coming out as I’d like in a perfect world. The third book in the SEVEN FORGES series, tentatively entitled CITY OF WONDERS should be coming out by the end of next year. I have multiple short stories coming out in the next year, including a tale in the anthology BLACKGUARDS, coming out from Ragnarok Press in January. I am staying just as busy as I can and have no intention of slowing down. 

We all hope you stay busy Jim! Busy for you means great reading for us. You can follow James Moore on Twitter @JamesAMoore and visit his website here.

Please don’t be a stranger, come back and visit again!

One comment on “An Interview with James A. Moore

  • Comments are closed.

