An Interview with David Bernstein

Published November 30, 2014 by MommaCat

DavidBernstein

 

 

1) I want to talk about Apartment 7C. I think it’s a story that nearly everyone can relate to and I loved the ending. Would you talk about your inspiration for that novella?

I wanted to write a story where an elderly person was the protagonist. Of course I knew the story would be in the horror genre. And I wanted to put her in a real-world situation involving domestic abuse. Make the antagonist seem like an impossible thing to beat. A huge, muscle-bound man against a little old lady. But that wouldn’t be enough, so I made him a police officer with an impeccable record, giving him even more power.

 

2) If you could live during any era in any land, real or imaginary, where would it be and why?

Good question. I think in some kind of fantasy world, like the Harry Potter Universe. It’s fantastic. I love the scenery, buildings, wardrobes and the whole coziness of Hogwarts. I know it’s weird, but some place like that.

 

3) What are the next three books you plan to read?

Hmmm. I usually don’t plan. I have so many in my TBR list, both on my kindle and in paper form. Whenever I finish a book, I scan through my books and see what feels right at the time. Right now I’m reading Michael McBride’s SUNBLIND (fantastic).

 

4) Do you consider yourself handy around the house?

Somewhat. I’ve fixed a number of things around the house, like when the toilet stopped flushing, or when the faucet leaked or when the computer wasn’t working right. I can cork things and build things (like shelving and book cases) too. And I find doing these things interesting. I feel like I’ve accomplished something.

 

5) What’s your comfort food?

I can only pick one?!?! That’s a toss up between M&Ms and Ice Cream.

 

6) What if you could trade bodies with one person for one day? Who would that be?

Head of the C.I.A. so I could know and get a feel for what’s really going on in the world.

 

7) What life lesson do you wish you had learned much earlier than you did?

That’s easy. Paid more attention in school. For real. I always disliked school. I always wanted to play. Then in college all I wanted to do was party. Only after college had I matured—I’d guess you call it—and wished I’d studied harder. But you live and learn.

 

8) Who would you like to co-author a book with?

Actually, I have co-authored a book with some GREAT people/writers. Kristopher Rufty, Adam Cesare and Shane Mckenzie. We wrote JACKPOT together, a book about a serial killer that wins the lotto. It was a lot of fun and we plan on doing two more.

I wouldn’t mind writing a book with Stephen King, then again, who wouldn’t?

 

9) What five people – living or dead- would you invite to a dinner party? (Universal translators will be provided)

Sheesh, what a tough question to answer. I’m going to leave out family. So let’s go with whatever pops in my mind first. Bruce Lee (he and the 70’s Kung Fu movies are the reason I got into Martial Arts). Stephen King, (who I’ve had the chance to meet a few times, but never spent more than a few minutes with). John Carpenter (love his movies). John McTiernan (love his movies). Nathan Fillian, because he seems like a fun, cool dude.

10) Would you talk about your upcoming books nd their production schedule?

I am still working on some things for 2015, but so far I have a couple books coming out. The only novel with an actual set in stone date is my Darkfuse novel entitled SKINNER. It’s about a group of young adults heading up north during the winter and have an accident. They are in the middle of nowhere during a blizzard and find shelter in a cabin. Strange things begin to happen, including friends turning on each other and a mysterious multicolored wolf shows up, it’s really massive.

I also have a book coming out through Great Old Ones Publishing, tentatively titled THE SLUDGE. It’s going to be a crazy monster tale. I have MACHINES OF THE DEAD 3 coming out sometime. And I believe my next Samhain novel GOBLINS OF ROANOKE will be released, but I’m currently still writing it. It deals with the Roanoke legend of the missing colony. I might have a couple other projects coming out in 2015, a novella entitled Blue Demon, but at this moment, I’m not sure when.

11) How do you want the world to remember you?

As a writer who wanted to scare and thrill people, and give people a way to escape the real world for a while.

 

David is constantly writing and besides the books we talked about today he’s written RELIC OF DEATH, WITCH ISLAND, THE TREE MAN and many more. I’d be hard pressed to pick a favorite.  I’d love to take a long weekend and sit and re-read all of his books. Now that would be some fun reading!    You can find David at davidbernsteinauthor.blogspot.com and on Facebook.   

Thanks for visiting today, Dave!   Hope you’ll come back again.

