An Interview with Tim Curran

Published November 22, 2014 by MommaCat

Tim photo

 

 

1) What would your power be if you were a super hero?

The uncanny ability to smell bullshit a mile away. The stench seems strongest in the direction of LA and New York where mass groupings of weasels can be found sunning themselves on heaps of rotting, broken promises.

 

2) If you could live during any era in any land, real or imaginary, where would it be and why?

I would choose the Late Cretaceous Period of 65,000,000 years ago. I’d like to be in Minnesota on the shores of the Great Interior Seaway that cut North America in half at the time. I’d like to see that great primeval ocean and what swam there. Something no human being has ever seen.

 

3) Do you write every day? Would you still write if you didn’t need to make money?

Yes, every day unless life intrudes. Yes, I’d still write. Money’s fine, but you’re either in it for the love or you’re writing crap like zombies vs. special forces, giant shark books, or paranormal romances and if that’s the case, you should be exterminated anyway like the talentless slug you are.

 

4) How much research do you do?

A great deal. Unlike a lot of writers, I’m really like research. I like learning about things. And I’m a real stickler when it comes to historical or technical accuracy. As an example of that, a few years ago I read a horror-western by a very prominent horror author. It was pretty good until he had Wild Bill Hickok show up some five years after history tells us he was already dead. Mistakes like that are unforgivable. I threw the book away.

 

5) What’s your comfort food?

Pizza. 100% pizza. Plenty of other things I could name, but pizza is my favorite food bar none. I’m kind of a snob in that I won’t eat that garbage from chain outfits like Dominos. I like homemade one-of-kind pies from Italian restaurants. Then again, I’m not a snob because I like frozen pizza, too. I must be confused.

 

6) What if you could trade bodies with one person for one day? Who would that be?

Probably Olivia Munn so I could touch myself…no, no, probably George Clooney or someone like that. A powerhouse celebrity so I could feel, if only for one day, what’s it like to be important and successful. You know, feel pampered and strong and have my ass really, truly kissed. And I could date a supermodel. Sounds like win-win.

 

7) What are the next three books you plan to read?

Hmm. I’ve been going through a science fiction thing lately, trying to read important books that I overlooked. I’m reading Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke right now and it’s great. But the next three are: Ringworld by Larry Niven, Hothouse by Brian Aldiss, and All Flesh is Grass by Clifford Simak. Simak’s book has a town trapped inside a bubble-like dome…sounds like Stephen King did an obvious swipe on this one.

 

8) Who would you like to co-author a book with?

William Hope Hodgson…but he’s dead, so that would create problems.

 

9) What five people – living or dead- would you invite to a dinner party? (language & time are not problems)

I’d probably pick H.P. Lovecraft and four members of his circle—August Derleth, Robert Bloch, Clark Ashton Smith, and Robert E. Howard. Then I’d dose their drinks with LSD and see what turns the conversation took.

 

10) How do you want the world to remember you?

I’m hoping a story or two of mine might still be read 200 years from now, even if only by some hardcore horror historian. That my name would still be known—if only by a few people—is more than most people achieve.

 

I don’t know how my readers feel (but I can guess) and they’re all doing what I am right now…shaking their head in wonder and/or yelling at their monitor because Tim IS a celebrity! One who every horror reader would recognize if we saw you on the street, or in the graveyard…Maybe you’ll leave the far north and come visit my strange little town again soon?  I hope so.  Tim can be found hanging out at corpseking.com.

