An Interview with Jeff Strand

Published November 15, 2014 by MommaCat

 

Strand Photo

 

 

1) What would your power be if you were a super hero?

I’d be Social Media Self-Control Man, the man who can read really dumb stuff on Facebook and 99.97% of the time resist the urge to comment on it!

 

2) If you could live during any era in any land, real or imaginary, where would it be and why?

I’d live in an imaginary version of Hogwarts, where you got all of the cool magic and stuff but didn’t have to deal with that Voldemort crap.

 

3) Tell us about your thought process when you sit down to write. Do you use an outline?

Sometimes the publisher requires an outline, though that’s never my preferred way to work. Usually I have kind of a general sense of where the story is going, though how closely I stick to that varies a lot from book to book. My preferred method is to know the ending, know a few stops along the way, and then know in detail where the next chapter or two is headed. Sometimes I’ve got it worked out further ahead, and sometimes I don’t know where it’s going from sentence to sentence.

 

4) If you were to have one wish granted, what would it be? (No wishing for more wishes!)

I would just crumble under the pressure and end up saying, “It’s too much responsibility! I don’t want the wish!” Because what I’d want is to be able to fly, but if I wished for the power of flight knowing that I could end world hunger, the guilt would haunt me for the rest of my life and I’d never be able to enjoy flying. But if I ended world hunger instead of being able to fly, I’d be bitter whenever I had a meal.

 

5) If you were stranded on a deserted tropical island, do you think you could survive?

I don’t know. Do I get to take one book and one movie with me?

 

6) What if you could trade bodies with one person for one day? Who would that be?

I don’t actually keep up with the sex lives of celebrities very well. Who gets the most in a day?

 

7) What are the next three books you plan to read?

Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman, Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick, and Horror of It All (a collection of interviews) by David Kempf.

 

8) Who would you like to co-author a book with?

F. Paul Wilson, JA Konrath, Blake Crouch, and James A. Moore. Wait–I already have! Sweeeeeeet!

 

9) What five people – living or dead- would you invite to a dinner party? (language & time are not problems)

Patton Oswalt, Jeff Probst, Dave Barry, Stephen Colbert, and Buster Keaton.

 

10) How do you want the world to remember you?

“He wrote some funny, cool books.”

 

Sounds like Jeff has met some of his goals. I’ll sure remember him for funny, cool books and not just because I keep my kindle in the refrigerator.  🙂   Maybe we can do this again sometime, Jeff? Will you come back? Huh? Will ya?  I know where you live – and I’m tellin’ everyone to go to Gleefully Macabre.

